Neuter the backspace key, save your email messages, blog posts, and sanity

If you’re anything like me, you’re prob’ly a bit tired of wiping out an entire web form by hitting backspace at the wrong time. Who decided it’s a good idea to make the “delete the last character” key double as a “lose my entire blog post forever and ever” key if I happen to have something besides a text box focused?

Happy day! There’s a way to disable this worthless default action (assuming you use a good browser).

Go to about:config — just type that in your address bar — and change this setting:

browser.backspace_action

  • 0 – go back previous page
  • 1 – page up
  • 2 – (does nothing)

Change it to 2 to disable this horrid default, then use the forward and back hotkeys instead…

(via)